You Can Now Delete An Accidentally ‘Sent’ Message In WhatsApp

You Can Now Delete An Accidentally ‘Sent’ Message In WhatsApp

You Can Now Delete An Accidentally ‘Sent’ Message In WhatsApp

by October 27, 2017

Most people participate in multiple groups on WhatsApp. Chatting with these people simultaneously is sometimes a disaster waiting to happen. Blink, and you end up sending your covert Thailand trip pictures in a family group instead of your friends. Such misfired messages have changed many lives. However, there’s now a ray of hope for sinners, as WhatsApp is rolling out an option to delete a sent message.

This new feature lets you delete a message sent to either a group or an individual chat. Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

Here’s how to go on using this feature:
1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.

2. Tap and hold the message. Optionally, tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.

3. Tap ‘Delete’ at the top of the screen > Delete for everyone.

There’s a catch though. Once the message has been sent, you only get up to seven minutes to undo it. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete the message.

The feature works on latest version of WhatsApp available for Android, iPhone, and Windows Phone. If your recipient has not updated the software, this feature won’t work, and he/she will be able to see the original message.

The new feature is not foolproof as recipients may see your message before it’s deleted. And there’s no way of knowing whether the deleting for everyone was successful or not.